Peach Kelli Pop
iii LP
Catalog Number BR-80

Peach Kelli Pop originated when Allie Hanlon, originally a drummer, decided to try writing and recording songs in Ottawa, Canada in 2009. Hanlon started out writing not for an audience but for herself. The intimate quality of her bedroom recordings have been maintained to this day. On first listen one will hear high-pitched harmonies and thick layers of trebly guitars but just below the surface lays an evocative darker side to the music that often goes unnoticed.

Hanlon is known for her catchy and tongue-in-cheek songs inspired by video games, Chinese food and conspiracy theorists, illustrating not only her playfulness but also her wit and her angst. She also grapples with more serious topics like the pressures and challenges women face and the weight of love. Some songs feature the sounds and words of frustrated heartache and recognizable sorrows. Those that spend enough time with Hanlonís music will grasp its depth Ėboth musically and emotionally.

Peach Kelli Pop plays with the type of urgency and immediacy that appeals to an audience with short attention spans. Hanlon fronts Peach Kelli Popís energetic live shows on guitar and vocals and is backed by an assembly of female musicians. The live band consists of an additional guitarist, a bassist, a keyboardist and percussionist and a drummer. Hanlon has been playing with all female musicians in recent years because she recalls being inspired by seeing other women play shows as a teen. In the male-dominated music world, it affirmed her own potential for writing and playing music.

Some press / reviews / etc.


Side A
1. Princess Castle 1987
2. Shampoo
3. Heart Eyes
4. Bat Wing
5. Nude Beach
Side B
1. Plastic Love
2. Big Man
3. Sailor Moon
4. New Moon
5. Please Come Home

Limited to 500 copies, 100 of which on lime green wax, the rest on black wax. Also to be released by Burger Records, USA.

news buy stuff advice shop